WASHINGTON, D.C. (Dec. 22, 2010) -The Interstate Insurance Product Regulation Commission (IIPRC) elected new 2011 officers during a special election Dec. 20. The new officers are: New Hampshire Insurance Commissioner Roger A. Sevigny, chair; North Carolina Insurance Commissioner Wayne Goodwin, vice chair; and Missouri Insurance Director John M. Huff, treasurer. The new officers assume their roles immediately.

Roger A. Sevigny was appointed New Hampshire insurance commissioner in 2003. Sevigny served as President of the NAIC in 2009. Prior to becoming insurance commissioner, Sevigny was assistant commissioner at the New Hampshire Insurance Department. He also worked at Travelers Insurance for more than 30 years in a variety of technical and management positions. He holds a commission in the U.S. Army, having retired at the rank of colonel. A native of New Hampshire, Sevigny graduated from St. Anselm College with a bachelor’s degree in biology.

Wayne Goodwin was elected North Carolina Insurance Commissioner in 2008. He also serves as the state fire marshal. Prior to working for the state insurance department as Assistant Commissioner, Goodwin served in the North Carolina General Assembly's House of Representatives where he focused on insurance, consumer protection, public safety, and good government issues. He is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the UNC School of Law. Before entering public service, Goodwin practiced law in central North Carolina for 13 years.

John M. Huff was appointed director of the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration in February 2009. In this position, he leads the state’s initiatives to protect consumers, including insurance policyholders and financial institution customers. Before his appointment, Huff spent three years as an executive with Swiss Re, and eight years with GE Insurance Solutions. Huff holds a bachelor's degree in business administration from Southeast Missouri State University, an MBA from Saint Louis University, and is a graduate of the Washington University School of Law in St. Louis.

About the Commission

Currently, 37 jurisdictions have joined the Interstate Insurance Product Regulation Commission (IIPRC). Compacting members are Alaska, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The IIPRC enables state insurance regulators to develop uniform national standards for asset protection insurance products, such as life insurance, annuities, disability income and long-term care insurance. The IIPRC establishes a central filing point for these insurance products, enhancing the speed and efficiency of regulatory decisions and allowing companies to compete more effectively in the modern financial marketplace, while continuing to provide protection for consumers.

For more information, visit

© 2009 Interstate Insurance Product Regulation Commission. All rights reserved.