Insurance Compact Announces Officers for Remaining 2024 Term

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (July 9, 2024) – The Insurance Compact has announced a change in officers. Nebraska Department of Insurance Director and current Insurance Compact Vice Chair Eric Dunning becomes Chair with the resignation of Maryland Insurance Commissioner Kathleen A. Birrane, effective July 1, 2024.

Under the operation of the Compact Bylaws, Director Dunning will serve as Chair for the remaining annual term until the next election. With the vacancy in the Vice Chair position, Director Dunning has appointed West Virginia Insurance Commissioner and current Insurance Compact Treasurer Allan McVey to serve as Vice Chair. This causes a vacancy in the Treasurer position, and Director Dunning has appointed Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions Cabinet Executive Officer (CEO) Barbara D. Richardson to serve as Treasurer. Commissioner McVey and CEO Richardson both serve on the Management Committee. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Director Elizabeth Kelleher Dwyer will continue as Past Chair.

“My priority is to move the important initiatives set forth by our previous leadership team forward,” said Director Dunning. “Strategic planning efforts are well underway, and the Adjunct Services Committee (ASC) is working on some exciting projects. I look forward to engaging with my fellow members and interested parties alike to finish 2024 strong.”

“I am pleased to serve as Vice Chair of the Insurance Compact,” said Commissioner McVey. “As an Insurance Compact Officer since 2022, I appreciate the transformational work we have done as well as the strategic work ahead to further leverage the value and services of our state-based organization.”

“I am pleased and honored to be appointed as Treasurer,” said CEO Richardson, who currently serves as Chair of the Compact’s ASC. “I look forward to integrating the discussions from the Compact Roundtables and work of the ASC into our next strategic plan to address the needs of the members.”

The transition of leadership is accomplished in accordance with Compact Bylaws. This transition ensures continuity of leadership already serving the Commission until the next election at the Commission Annual meeting in November.

Share Article